MUNICIPAL VOTE 2018: No election this fall in Powerview-Pine Falls – entire council in by acclamation


Municipal Elections

The candidate registration deadline for the upcoming municipal elections passed on September 18 and the list of candidates for those elections has been released.

Powerview-Pine Falls is the lone municipality in our region that will have no election this fall. None of the positions for councillor or mayor were contested. The new council will be as follows:

Mayor: Don MacLellan
Ward 1 councillors: Melinda Pluchinski; Gary Berthelette
Ward 2 councillors: Lorie Finkbeiner; Howard Townsend

The RM of Alexander is set up for an interesting race with only one ward going uncontested.

Reeve: Jack Brisco; Raymond Garand (incumbent)
Ward 1: Cheryhl Corrie; Michael Lauze
Ward 2: Ken Danwich; Gordon Kaye; Laurette Sundstrom
Ward 3: Gerald Goodfellow; Jillian Whitford; Diane Dube; Kim Robertson
Ward 4: Mac Kinghorn (incumbent) in by acclamation

In both the town and the RM of Lac du Bonnet, the positions for mayor and reeve were uncontested.

RM of Lac du Bonnet
Reeve: Loren Schinkel (in by acclamation)
Council (four of five candidates will be elected at large): Cindy Kellendonk; Grant Hine; Scott Jones; Rob Doyle; Darryll Scheirch

Town of Lac du Bonnet
Mayor: Gordon Peters (in by acclamation
Council (four of five candidates will be elected at large): Ted Mathers; Brian Choptain; Keegan Sveinson; John Veroneau; Greg Short

RM of St. Clements
Mayor: Debbie Fiebelkorn; Scott Hillhouse; Rob Morrissey

Ward 1 (three of six will be elected): Glen Basarowich; Jerry Drobot; Valdine Kosmick; Merv Rolla; Scott Spicer; Sandra Strang

Ward 2 (three of six will be elected): Robert Belanger; Rod Cameron; Ed Gunning; David Horbas; Terry Neplyk; Ross Orvis; Dave Sutherland; Kevin Thomas; Glenn Williams