RM of Alexander Councillor recognized for preserving history

Holding her award, Diane Dubé stands between Lieutenant Governor, Janice Filmon and the Manitoba Historical Society’s President Alan Mason . Photo by Tracey Goncalves

By Don Norman

RM of Alexander Councillor, Diane Dubé was one of five Manitobans to receive the Lieutenant Governor’s Historical Preservation and Promotion Award. Lt. Gov. Janice C. Filmon presented the the awards on at 5 p.m. May 9 at Government House. The award recognizes recipients for their prolonged, meritorious service in the preservation and promotion of the province’s history and heritage. The other ecipients were: Barry Bills (Brandon); Jim Blanchard (Winnipeg); Maralyn MacKay-Hussain (Selkirk); and Bruce Tascona (Pilot Mound).

Diane Dubé said she was honoured to be recognized for her role in protecting and preserving local history, but she refused to take all the credit. “I have met a lot of passionate and community-minded people who helped me to become a community leader and gave me the ability to move projects like the Winnipeg River Heritage Museum, forward.” Dubé said she was pleased to accept the award on behalf of the region.

The citation, read by Manitoba Historical Society Head Researcher & Webmaster, Dr. Gordon Goldsborough, introducing Dubé at the awards ceremony said, “It is widely acknowledged that Diane Dubé is the driving force behind the St. Georges Museum, having been its director and curator since 2009. Like a phoenix that arises from its ashes, the museum has rebounded from a disastrous arson fire in 2014, as Ms. Dubé has led the salvaging and restoration of its damaged collections, spearheaded campaigns to raise funds for its reopening as the Winnipeg River Museum, and coordinated the rebuilding of its infrastructure in a magnificent new structure overlooking the river. Her exemplary community service and volunteerism have been recognized with a Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal (2002), a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012), and a Travel Manitoba Volunteer of the Year Award (2014).”

Part of the award includes the planting of a special “Regal Celebration Maple” in honour of the recipient.

The Manitoba Historical Society receives award nominations from the public and recommends up to five people to receive awards each year. “These awards provide a wonderful opportunity to celebrate those who dedicate significant time, energy and creativity to ensure the province’s rich history is kept alive,” said Lt.-Gov. Filmon. “Whether through stewardship of the provinces historic buildings, museums and archives, the writing of books or creating programs to engage and inspire future historians, these outstanding Manitobans care deeply about the communities in which they live. It is a pleasure to recognize their efforts and achievements.” Nominations are welcome at any time.