Wayne Ewasko wins nomination for another run at the Lac du Bonnet Constituency

L-R – MLA for Lac du Bonnet Wayne Ewasko, PC Leader Brian Pallister, MLA for Selkirk Alan Lagimodiere and Minister of Infrastructure Blaine Pedersen

March 8, 2019

MLA Wayne Ewasko will be the Progressive Conservative candidate for the upcoming 2020 provincial election after securing the party’s nomination in the new constituency of Lac du Bonnet.

“Wayne has been a tremendous representative for his constituents in Lac du Bonnet,” said PC Party Leader Brian Pallister who attended the nomination meeting in Beausejour on February 20th. “His record of public service makes him the best choice to represent the new constituency of Lac du Bonnet. I look forward to working with him as we build a winning team that will continue to earn the trust of Manitobans in the next provincial election.”

In preparation for the next provincial election, the PC Party has begun the process of nominating candidates across the province. The December 2018 report of the independent Electoral Divisions Boundaries Commission made significant changes to the existing electoral boundaries, including the constituency of Lac du Bonnet. The Lac du Bonnet constituency will stretch from Victoria Beach east to the Ontario border, take in Whiteshell Provincial Park, Falcon Lake and travel south of the number 1 Highway to just Southeast of Steinbach. The new area will serve just over twenty three thousand permanent residents.

Wayne Ewasko along with his wife Tracey and sons Brayden and Jarvis reside in the RM of Brokenhead and have a strong family history in the community. Prior to him becoming MLA for Lac du Bonnet, Wayne was a teacher and Guidance Counsellor in the Sunrise School Division. He remains an active member of the community as a volunteer with the Beausejour’s Knights of Columbus and Beausejour Lions Club.

Wayne Ewasko was first elected as the Member of the Legislative Assembly to represent the Lac du Bonnet constituency in 2011 and since then has worked very hard to be the voice of our region. In addition to his role as an MLA, Wayne currently serves as Government Caucus Chairperson, and sits on Priorities and Planning Committee of Cabinet, Regulatory Accountability Committee of Cabinet, Legislative Assembly Management Committee and Chairs Legislation and Regulation Committee of the PC Caucus. Additional founding and nomination meetings will be held in coming weeks.